2015 Adelaide Cup Nominations Released

March 3rd, 2015

21 classy stayers have been included in nominations for Monday’s featured Group 2 Adelaide Cup (3200m) at Morphettville Racecourse, highlighted by the impending appearance of some of the autumn’s most exciting racing prospects.

Akzar has been included in 2015 Adelaide Cup nominations. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia

Akzar has been included in 2015 Adelaide Cup nominations. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia

Akzar more than stamped his claims as one to watch when charging home late to finish a credible third in the Group 2 Peter Young Stakes (1800m) over the weekend and has been included in 2015 Adelaide Cup nominations.

Posting a commendable race record of eight wins and a further 14 minor place finishes from his 42 competitive starts so far, Akzar found exceptional form over the early stages of 2014; taking out the VRC 15Oth Celebration Race (2000m) before placing a close second in the Group 3 Easter Cup (2000m) on April 19th.

Returning to the winner’s circle in the Listed Warrnambool Cup (2350m) on May 1st, the Selkirk gelding ran a credible fourth in the Group 1 Doomben Cup (2000m) a fortnight later and returned to the paddock following a luckless run when blocked late and fifth in the Group 2 Eagle Farm Cup (2200m) on May 31st.

Having quickly built to the task over five starts this time in, Akzar will relish the step-up to two miles should he accept into the 2015 Adelaide Cup final field.

Trainer Darren Weir is set to be offered several good chances for success in the 2015 Adelaide Cup, having also included Taiyoo and Zanteco in nominations.

Securing 13 wins and a further three minor place finishes over an impressive 26 start career so far, Taiyoo has undoubtedly found career-best form over his current preparation, and will be aiming for his sixth consecutive victory when lining up for the Adelaide Cup.

Zanteco has also secured several commendable results in 2015 already, and looks set to perform well this weekend after reportedly taking well to work over the last fortnight.

While unable to make an impact over his first two starts this time in, trainer John O’Shea is hoping the step-up to two miles will play into the strengths of Group 1-placed stayer Tupac Amaru in the 2015 Adelaide Cup.

Undoubtedly finding career-best form to date over the 2014 edition of the Autumn Carnival, Tupac Amaru was unlucky to be blocked for a run and ninth in the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m), but almost responded in the best way possible when charging home to finish a close second to Criterion in the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) on Day 1 of The Championships.

Having placed an impressive sixth in the Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m) only one week later, Tupac Amaru figures as one of only a handful of 2015 Adelaide Cup nominees who have contested an event over 3200m.

The 2015 Adelaide Cup final field and barrier draw is due to be completed and released by midday Wednesday.

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to take advantage of up to $250 in bonuses in time for the 2015 Adelaide Cup!

2015 Adelaide Cup Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 AKZAR (IRE) Darren Weir 103
2 BREDLIGN (NZ) Sue Murphy 78
3 CRAFTY CRUISER Bryce Stanaway 88
4 CRIME FIGHTER Peter G Moody 82
5 DISTILLATION Nick Smart 88
6 GOSSIP GURU Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 76
7 HOYLAKE (NZ) Lloyd Kennewell 66
8 LUCK’S A FORTUNE Pat Carey 78
10 PELICANO Tony McEvoy 100
11 REFECTORY (IRE) Richard Laming 70
12 RENEW (IRE) Archie Alexander 96
13 TAIYOO Darren Weir 108
14 TANBY Mick Cerchi 91
15 THE RUFFIAN Sheila Arnold 82
16 TOO COOL TO FOOL (NZ) Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas 81
17 TUPAC AMARU John O’Shea 89
18 VALEDICTION (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 77
19 VIMA Bill Papazaharoudakis 85
20 WALTZING TO WIN David Huxtable 80
21 ZANTECO (NZ) Darren Weir 70