2017 Adelaide Cup Results: Annus Mirabilis Wins

March 13th, 2017

The Stuart Webb-trained Melbourne raider Annus Mirabilis won the Adelaide Cup 2017 at Morphettville Racecourse on Monday ahead of a likely Sydney Cup bid next month.

Regan Bayliss

Regan Bayliss (shown at Flemington) won the 2017 Adelaide Cup aboard Sydney Cup-bound Annus Mirabilis. Photo: Race Horse Photos Australia.

Formerly prepared in Europe the Irish-bred Montjeu gelding was imported down under by goliath owner Lloyd Williams before his subsequent purchase by the Melbourne Racing Club Chairman Mike Symons.

Webb has the six-year-old earmarked for a jumps career, but the impressive win in the $400,000 Group 2 Adelaide Cup (3200m) will first see Annus Mirabilis attempt another even more lucrative two mile success.

The $2 million Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m) at Royal Randwick on April 8 is the likely major autumn assignment for the Adelaide Cup winner now and Annus Mirabilis is sure to firm in from his early odds of $51 to take out that classic through Ladbrokes.com.au.

“We’ve had him for a jumps preparation,” Webb said.

“He’ll jump eventually.

“But he’s still in the Sydney Cup and he’s a horse that will stay all day so we might go there.”

The Adelaide Cup results 2017 also continued a stunning season for young hoop Regan Bayliss who only rode his first Group 1 winner on the weekend aboard Redkirk Warrior for the upset in the Newmarket Handicap (1200m) down the Flemington straight.

Bayliss gave Annus Mirabilis a patient and well-timed ride in the Adelaide Cup knowing he had a genuine stayer underneath him who would run out the two miles without a worry.

“He’s a superior stayer this horse and he’s got a great set of lungs on him,” Bayliss said after the Morphettville Group 2 success.

“I knew the distance would not be an issue and he won like a good horse.”

After tracking mid-field around eighth in running throughout, Bayliss moved up on Annus Mirabilis once on the home straight to challenge the leader Puccini.

He quickly tackled the front-runner and Annus Mirabilis ($9) charged home for a one and a quarter-length victory over the fast finishing Robbie Laing-trained roughie Double Bluff ($51).

Double Bluff (11th) and Annus Mirabilis (5th) were both graduates out of the Listed Roy Higgins Quality (2600m) at Flemington on March 4, a race that also produced the 2014 Adelaide Cup winner Outback Joe (2nd).

Rounding out this autumn’s Adelaide Cup trifecta in third was the beaten Darren Weir-trained favourite Master Of Arts ($3.40) who crossed a further length off the runner-up.

See below for the full Adelaide Cup 2017 results and finishing order before head to Ladbrokes.com.au to check the updated Sydney Cup odds on the winner Annus Mirabilis to continue his autumn staying campaign.

2017 Adelaide Cup Results: Full Finishing Order

Morphettville Racecourse – Monday March 13, 2017 – Race 7

Place # Horse Trainer Jockey Margin Br. Wgt. SP
1 12 ANNUS MIRABILIS (IRE) Stuart Webb Regan Bayliss 7 55.5kg $9
2 16 DOUBLE BLUFF (IRE) Robbie Laing Joe Bowditch 1.3L 2 55.5kg $51
3 2 MASTER OF ARTS (NZ) Darren Weir Damian Lane 2.2L 6 56.5kg $3.40F
4 1 CHANCE TO DANCE (IRE) Robert Hickmott Ben Melham 2.8L 3 58kg $8
5 5 JIM’S JOURNEY Peter F Blanch Dom Tourneur 3.5L 15 55.5kg $16
6 6 DE LITTLE ENGINE Danny O’Brien Daniel Moor 5.3L 18 55.5kg $8.50
7 17 HONEY STEEL’S GOLD David & B Hayes & T Dabernig Ben Allen (a) 5.6L 4 55.5kg $19
8 8 MUJADALE Dane Smith Ms Nikita Beriman 6.5L 5 55.5kg $31
9 7 LORD VAN PERCY (GB) Darren Weir Mark Zahra 6.9L 19 55.5kg $18
10 19 EXALTED LIGHTNING Rob Wilkinson Paul Gatt 9.2L 16 55.5kg $201
11 4 MAIL IT IN Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas Clare Lindop 9.8L 12 55.5kg $9
12 15 DARABAD (FR) Robbie Laing Noel Callow 14.9L 1 55.5kg $12
13 3 PUCCINI (NZ) Wayne Walters Ms Kate Walters 15.9L 10 55.5kg $18
14 20 KAWABATA Jamie Edwards Dean Holland 16L 9 55.5kg $26
15 10 LIKE A CAROUSEL Ken Keys Craig Newitt 16.7L 13 55.5kg $31
16 9 TUNES Grant Young Ms Jamie Kah 16.8L 17 55.5kg $31
17 21e ANURADHA Ryan Balfour Damien Thornton 44.2L 14 55.5kg $201
18 13 CHESTNUT CHARLIE Philippe Huserot Ms Emily Finnegan (a) 75.1L 8 55.5kg $41
19 22e MIGHTY MAHER Gary Searle Todd Pannell 83.7L 11 55.5kg $151
23e CHOYSA (NZ) Wayne Walters 0
11 DANDY GENT Terry & Karina O’Sullivan Dean Yendall 0
14 ONCIDIUM RULER Michael Kent Luke Nolen 0
18 BAYANOVA (NZ) Michael Kent Ben Allen (a) 0